Awards Archives | The Laugh ButtonThe Laugh Button

Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

  • Seth Meyers, Key & Peele among Time’s 100 Most Influential list

    Seth Meyers Key and PeeleTime Magazine released it’s annual list of 100 Most Influential People. The list is often a who’s who of politics, industry, activism, leadership, art, and entertainment. The movers and shakers one might say.

    This year they highlighted the great work of two (technically three) people from the comedy community – Seth Meyers and Key & Peele. While Meyers isn’t a stranger to lists such as this as he’s often heaped well-deserved praise for his work in not only the last 13 years on Saturday Night Live but with his new foray into late night with Late Night with Seth Meyers.

    Amy Poehler wrote the testimonial about Meyers stating: Read More

    The American Comedy Awards to honor Bill Cosby with Lifetime Achievement award

    Bill CosbyThe American Comedy Awards is one of comedy’s biggest nights. As we previously reported, the awards ceremony has made a nice bump from Comedy Central to NBC this year. The show honored both David Letterman (2011) and Don Rickles (2012) with one of it’s most prestigious awards, The Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence. This year the guest of honor receiving the award is none other than Mr. Bill Cosby. It’s hard to argue someone else being more deserving of the iconic award.

    NBC President of Alternative and Late Night Programming, Paul Telegdy, spoke about Cosby receiving the award, “Bill Cosby is an iconic figure at the forefront of the American comedy landscape.” Telegdy continued on saying, “His work in television, film, stand-up comedy and literature has shaped the national sense of humor and has had an enduring impact on comedians and fans of all ages. We are delighted to honor him with the Johnny Carson Award during the network’s inaugural broadcast of the ‘American Comedy Awards.’” Read More

    Conan O’Brien and his 50 cameos for the MTV Movie Awards opening montage

    Conan O’Brien set out to start the MTV Movie Awards off with a bang and he certainly accomplished it. As stated in the clip, the previous record for cameos in an MTV Movie Awards opening was eight, so Conan brought us 50. Conan’s big opening was great too. I personally liked his sign off for the night the best, “Thanks for joining us, enjoy watching this as a rerun!” Read More

    Key & Peele earn a Peabody Award

    Key & PeeleYesterday the 73rd Annual Peabody Awards were announced. The awards give high praise to programming and stories in electronic media that benefit citizens by expanding horizons, defend public interest, and encourage empathy with others. In short they, “recognize stories that matter.”

    Comedy has always found a home in the Peabody awards, because satire is often a reflection of society, whether it be from a Jon Stewart, SNL, or Stephen Colbert. Now we can add Key & Peele to the list. They praised the sketch comedy show’s creators and stars stating, “It’s like Abbott and Costello Meet Richard Pryor when the duo of Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele fearlessly apply their mischievous minds and satirical savvy to racially aware sketches both broad and incisive.” Congrats gentlemen! The Peabody awards ceremony will be on May 19th in New York and televised on the Pivot network.

    ‘Parks And Recreation,’ ‘This Is The End,’ SNL, Bill Burr, amongst nominees for American Comedy Awards

    This Is The EndJust a few months ago we learned that the American Comedy Awards would be be returning to network TV and air on NBC. A return to its roots of sorts as they once aired on the peacock network. Now, after a round of open nominations from a panel of comedy industry people, (which we must admit, included us) the final nominations have been determined and are open for the public to vote until March 18th.

    The nominations for the 2014 American Comedy Awards have been announced and we have ourselves a terrific selection of nominations to select from. Fronting the pack is the Seth Rogen/James Franco flick This Is The End with 7 nominations followed by the Bruce Dern/Will Forte flick Nebraska with 6. In the TV categories, NBC’s Parks And Recreation pulled 6 nominations while sketch comedy show Key & Peele and the always nominated Modern Family pulled in 5 nominations each.

    Other picks of note, Bill Hader, Vanessa Bayer, and Kate McKinnon all pulled in nominations for their work on Saturday Night Live. Read More

    Kathy Griffin wins the Grammy for best comedy album, Craig Ferguson wins our readers poll

    Kathy Griffin, Craig FergusonIt was a night filled with glitz and glamour as The 56th Grammy Awards entertained the audience once again. The music and speeches were fun yet what we really cared about was the category for “Best Comedy Album.” Bob Saget, Craig Ferguson, Kathy Griffin, Ron White, and Tig Notaro were all nominated for a Grammy this year and we were curious to see who would walk away with that golden record player trophy. The comedic styles of each album were drastically different from one another as it was an interesting mix of comedic powerhouses nominated.

    But the award could only be presented to one winner and that was Kathy Griffin. Her album, Calm Down Gurrl took the prize, an audio version of her Bravo TV special that aired on the channel earlier this year. After being nominated 6 times for the award, Griffin tweeted the following very simple message about taking the top honors. Read More

    Poll: Who do you think will win the comedy Grammy?

    The Grammy Awards are this weekend. And while we’re sure you are all really excited about seeing the super collaboration of bands performing at the end of the night, our real interest lies in who will take home the comedy Award.

    Nominations this year consist of some really well-known names in the comedy community duking it out for the goods. Unfortunately we’re not on the board of voters and rather than complain about it we’re taking matters into our own hands by launching a reader’s poll. Who do you think should win the comedy Grammy this year? Read More

    Adam Sandler’s ‘Grown Ups 2′ leads Razzies with 8 nominations

    Grown Ups 2It’s officially award season and that includes the Razzies, otherwise known as the award given to the worst of Hollywood films in any certain category (Worst Movie, Worst Actor, etc.) Leading the way this year for Razzie awards was Adam Sandler’s terrible Grown Up’s 2 with eight nominations including “Worst Picture”, “Worst Actor” (Sandler), “Worst Supporting Actress” (Salma Hayek), “Worst Supporting Actor” (Taylor Lautner), “Worst Director” (Dennis Dugan), “Worst Screen Combo” (The entire cast), “Worst Screenplay” (Fred Wolfe, Tim Herlihy, and Adam Sandler), and “Worst Remake, Rip-Off, or Sequel.”

    In other words it was nominated for every Razzie award other than Worst Actress. That’s a lot but it’s not Sandler’s first run with the award. Sandler took home “Worst Actor” for both That’s My Boy and Jack and Jill. So if Sandler wins again, it’ll be his third “Worst Actor” award in three years, ouch. It’s starting to look like Razzie voters have it out for the hilarious Adam Sandler. Of course, other movies made their presence known too, such as After Earth, The Lone Ranger, and A Madea Christmas, just to name a few other heavily nominated movies. Winners will be announced one day before the Academy Awards. Will Sandler show up and accept his award? Probably not, though a few have over the years. Read More